Why Red is Hot!

I have to be honest! I started to write this post thinking just “Red is hot!”.

My favorite color used to be blue, any kind of blue… and it’s a color that still has a kind of impact on me. But I think in some way… I’m over it. Maybe I’m a stronger person now…. And if it makes any sense, my past is for sure blue, and my present is Red.

I remember my boyfriend at that time telling me how much he would like to have a Red wall in his house, and that was the first Red-thought that I liked. Well, I don’t know what happened, but with him everything turned Red, since Red was our wedding theme. I just love it now! Is Red really the color of Love?

Then, when I decided to write about it, I did a bit of research. It’s incredible how many things you can find out about a color! First of all, the definition:
Red is any of a number of similar colors evoked by light consisting predominantly of the longest wavelengths of lighteye, in the wavelength range of roughly 630–740 nm. – (What???)
Red is used as one of the additive primary colors of light, complementary to cyan, in RGB color systems. Red is also one of the subtractive primary colors of RYB color space but not CMYK color space. – (Ok, I’m done!)

Then, the symbolism:
Red is used as a symbol of guilt, sin and anger, often as connected with blood or sex.
I remember when I read in high school The Scarlet Letter (which I hated!), an 1850 American novel by Nathaniel Hawthorne features a woman in a Puritan New England community who is punished for adultery with ostracism, her sin represented by a red letter ‘A’ sewn into her clothes. I guess it’s all connected since at one point, Red was associated with prostitutes, and in Roman Catholicism, Red represents wrath, one of the Seven Deadly Sins.

In different cultures the color Red is also the symbol of fire (China), heroic figure (Japan), bridal dresses, purity and sexuality in marriage relationships (India). In Central Africa, Ndembu warriors rub themselves with red during celebrations, but in other parts of the continent Red is a color of mourning, representing death.

As everybody knows, the color Red is associated with lust, passion, love, and beauty as well. The association with love and beauty bring us to the possible relation to the use of red roses as a love symbol.

In the past, both the Greeks and the Hebrews considered Red a symbol of love, as well as sacrifice. (Why are love and sacrifice always associated???!!!)
Well, the good news is psychological research has shown that men find women who are wearing red more attractive, so let’s go shopping, because I know you already have Red in your wardrobe, but I also know it’s never enough!

No doubt, Red is Hot!©

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Why Red is Hot!”

  1. Christine says :

    I couldn’t agree more! Red is my absolute favourite colour and has been since childhood… To me, it represents excitement, vitality & sexuality! Let’s face it, there ain’t nothing sexier than a pair of red high-heel! ;)

  2. bagnidilucca says :

    How could you not love red??

Leave a Reply

