Simply parmigiana, from my kitchen in Italy

And when I say “from my kitchen in Italy” that’s exactly what I mean!

These pictures were taken few days ago from my family in Italy, while cooking a yummy and very easy recipe: melanzane alla parmigiana (parmigiana eggplants).

All you need are:

- eggplants,

- tomato sauce,

- grated parmigiano,

- mozzarella (the real one)

There are a lot of different recipe of this dish, as often happens in Italy, pretty much every family has their own.
I always encourage people to personalize a recipe and make it your own following you personal taste:

- You can fry or grill the eggplants;
- Flavoring the tomato sauce with fresh basil, onion or garlic if you like, just keep it simple and light
- The only thing that I would never trade is real parmigiano and real mozzarella! That’s the heart of the recipe… and that’s why it’s called “alla parmigiana”!

Just remember: the ingredients makes the dish!

Buon appetito!

To read other post about Italian food click here

Parmigiana di melanzane

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Simply parmigiana, from my kitchen in Italy”

  1. A. says :

    Gnammi gnammi!!!

  2. Debra Kolkka says :

    As soon as I get back into my apartment I will try this – it looks great. Thank you.

  3. ChellBellz says :

    Looks like I found my new favorite cooking blog.

  4. honeybeeluvsjackfruit says :

    Oh Elena! How did you know all of my favorite things?! I totally agree on the “real” cheeses!

  5. lmarmstrong66.wordpress.com says :

    Elena, I have all the ingredients! Am ready to make this but how??? Do I fry the eggplants with some flour on them??? Do I layer the ingredients and then bake for 20 mins? Please help, I want to make this tonight. The eggplant is already cut and ‘drying out’
    Thx, Leah

    • ElenaSC says :

      You can fry the eggplants or grill them for a lighter dish. Then you put the ingredients together and bake them. Let me know how it goes :)

Leave a Reply

