The best potato recipe ever!

I’m glad to share with you today this family recipe that I hope you will love as much as I do!

This is everything you need:

- boiled potatoes
- mozzarella
- 2 eggs
- mortadella
- parmigiano cheese
- a little butter

Smash the potatoes and add eggs, butter, salt and a little milk.

In a baking pan put potatoes, mozzarella, mortadella and potatoes again.

Cover with grated parmigiano…

…and cook for an hour at 180C.


Cut into blocks and serve warm!
Enjoy! Buon Appetito!

For authentic Italian ingredients click here

Enhanced by ZemantaRead more about Italian recipe and Italian food here
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “The best potato recipe ever!”

  1. bagnidilucca says :

    What an interesting combination!

  2. gianni Lovato says :

    Certainly the vaguest potato recipe ever. No specific quantities or sizes whatsoever!

    Which suits me just fine. That is just how recipes used to be swapped from one generation to the other and among friends, back home, back then…
    Besides the fact that I consider recipes just as I do traffic lights when I drive in Italy: mere suggestions; heck, I don’t even have a scale or measuring spoons in the kitchen (I don’t bake).

    So I approached your interesting recipe all’italiana: No mortadella? no problem, I used ham. Not enough Grana Padano in the fridge? I used what I had and mixed with shaved sharp ceddar; so? it’s going to be a three cheeses potato recipe, any objection.

    Oh yeah, and I added a good handful of chopped onions in the mix, because my religion allows only coffee and Nutella to go without onions.

    The concoction is baking in the oven right now; in about an hour we’ll find out if the recipe has survived my changes and if have survived IT.

    I’ll tell you one thing: it already looks pretty good and smells even better…

    Later, I hope.

  3. gianni Lovato says :

    The result was very good, despite the changes and the “ad occhio” factor.
    Too little ham and also too lean (mortadella would have been better!).
    I also skimped a little too much on the milk (cheapskate!); that resulted in the potatoes being a little too dry.
    The chopped onions were a welcome addition, IMHO. (and helped make the kitchen smell good whilst baking).
    Once again: thanks for an excellent recipe with lots of freedom to make mistakes. (that’s how we learn and come up with pleasant surprises, right?)

  4. Eleonora says :

    mmm Yummi! Comunque le quantità ad occhio sono di casa anche qui ^W^!!! ciao ciao

  5. paninigirl says :

    This looks really good-thank you!

  6. coffeeanddessert says :

    It looks delicious!!!!

Leave a Reply

