Italian Hot Chocolate Recipe – Cioccolata in tazza

I have to admit it, one of the worst cultural shock I had coming to Canada was  when I found out people make hot chocolate with water and not with milk!


To be honest I do like Tim Hortons hot chocolate, but the real hot chocolate for me it’s something very different.

I remember waiting for my Mum to make me a cioccolata in tazza as badly as waiting for Christmas, and always seriously burning my tongue because I wasn’t able to wait to let it cold down.

Today I share with you this great and very easy recipe.

INGREDIENTS:
100 grams of dark chocolate,
1 tb potato starch or corn starch,
1 1/2 cups whole milk
sugar as needed

Melt chocolate in the milk over very low heat.
Remove from heat and let mixture rest for 10 minutes. Add the potato starch (or corn starch) and mix. Reheat until hot and whip until foamy.
Pour into individual cups and let it cold down.

You can serve the cioccolata with whipped cream, or cookies for dipping.

The consistency should be perfect to be eaten with a spoon, but you can reduce the potato starch quantity if you like it a little more liquid. Also, you can add sugar if the dark chocolate it’s too bitter for you.

Change it up with spices: you can add hot pepper powder, cinnamon, mint or any other flavor to customize this recipe for you and your family.

Have fun!

Try it with the new recipe: Little pastry with lemon cream

For more recipe click here


Enhanced by Zemanta

Hot chocolate

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

37 responses to “Italian Hot Chocolate Recipe – Cioccolata in tazza”

  1. Tes says :

    Your hot chocolate looks so rich and creamy. It sounds so comforting and delicious :)

  2. Anja says :

    Wohoooo…. this will be something for the weekend to come :))) Definitely gonna try to make that one.

  3. bagnidilucca says :

    Saturday was one of the hottest, steamiest days I have ever known in Brisbane. Today is a bit better. I think I will leave your delicious hot chocolate until I go back to Italy in February.

    • ElenaSC says :

      Or you could come here in Toronto: -24ºC today!
      p.s. I’m planning a trip in Australia…. I could come and cook for you!

      • Bern says :

        i followed the recipe and used potato starch. i couldnt get rid of the feeling that i was eating chocolate jel. Do you think i used too much or my milk (1%) is not cream enough

  4. georgette says :

    yum i know what you mean.. i love getting hot chocolate with panna on top! its a little thick for me. i can’t finish even a small cup but it is a cup of chocolate heaven!

    • ElenaSC says :

      You’re right: la cioccolata con la panna is the best! A must for winter!
      Oh, it just reminded me when I was in high school, and I couldn’t wait to have a cioccolata con la panna with friends!

      • andrearodgers says :

        This looks so delicious and rich! I will have to try it before I commit to my upcoming New Years Resolutions:)

        Have you ever tried Mexican Hot Chocolate with the cinnamon-y flavor and awesome froth? My mom used to make it, and when it is done right it is amazing!!!

        mmmmmm. chocolate.

  5. avidwhistler says :

    Oh man, hot chocolate is my favorite!! I love your recipe…I might have to try it on my day off this week. (:

  6. Fragolina says :

    It looks creamy and thick, yummi. I never tried italian hot chocolate, i’ll surely do when we go to Italy, hopefully next summer. I like my hot chocolate with cocoa powder. This is how we do it.

  7. 4myskin says :

    Yum! Sounds great! :)

  8. Jenna says :

    Hot chocolate with water!???? Yeah, that sounds weird to me, too . . .
    Your recipe looks great. I drank (or ate =) something similar where I grew up in Spain. It was chocolate a la taza, so thick you had to eat it with a spoon. We also used it to dip churros in . . . yum. I’ve never known how to make it, so I’ll have to try your recipe! Thanks!

  9. Enrico says :

    One of the things i used to bring back from my trips in Italy was a box full of Ciobar!!!!! soooo gooooood….

  10. Chris says :

    I just had to try this out, man was it good. I love dark chocolate and this was just dark chocolate heaven. First time I think I put too much starch or cooked it too long, it was too thick and had an weird consistency. The second time, it was prefect silky smooth, just thick enough to eat with a spoon but not too thick that you cant drink it.

    Thanks for sharing, I will be making this in the near future. Also, I get what you mean about not waiting. Both times I burned my mouth as I was not able to wait for it to cool. hehe

  11. freshandfoodie says :

    Yummmm. I wish I had some of that right now!

  12. Rachel says :

    In Sorrento there is a bakery/coffee shop that offers 30 or so kinds if hot chocolate! I wasn’t there long enough to try them all, but I loved the hot chocolate with pine nut and lemon… wonderful! Ahhhh…

  13. Babygirl says :

    This hot chocolate looks divine. I have to try this

  14. backtodavid says :

    What is potato starch? This looks delicious!

  15. honeybeeluvsjackfruit says :

    MMM Elena, I love chocolate and that looks perfect! Almost like what I would call pudding. I dont think hot chocolate should ever be made with water either. ;)

  16. savorysimple says :

    I cannot imagine hot chocolate without at least a touch of dairy. Your photo is mouth-watering!

  17. Grumpy Goat says :

    Perfect. I was just reading in NatGeo yesterday about favorite Italian hot chocolate providors (Horchatas?). This is a timely post/find.

  18. Cady Reeves says :

    MMMMM…..thanks for sharing that. It tasted really delicious. Better than instant hot coco.

  19. Rita says :

    That’s definitely the righ period to have hot chocolate. C’è un tempaccio qui in Italia… ;)

  20. milk says :

    I tried this today – SO rich, thick and delicious! thanks for the recipe~~
    x

Leave a Reply

