Italian lady in Canadian winter

This is the fifth winter I spend in Canada, and I can’t believe I am still alive.


Let me explain. For those of you who don’t know me, I am from Sardinia, a lovely Italian island in the Mediterranean sea.
I spent all my life, going to the beach pretty much from the Easter weekend to the end of September, and often longer.

That is why for me winter = +5ºC

No surprise then when I say Canadian winter is really a big deal for me. To be honest even Canadian people sometimes complain about their own winter, so please don’t blame me.

However, I have noticed that in the past couple of years my approach to winter has changed. Maybe because I have realized that complaining does not make anything better, but even more because of an algebraic equation that took me a while to get:

Canada + Winter = REALLY COLD

I do not complain anymore, I actually decided to make the most of it.

First I do not care if I look ridiculous when I walk on the street because I am covered: I will wear anything it’s going to make me feel warm. In fact, if I would ever soil myself with a fashion crime, I hope it’s going to happen during a snow storm, where you cannot see anything beside white, and especially you are just thinking about getting home and drink some warm eggnog instead of thinking I do not have a sense of style.

I have also realized that getting ready for winter can be fun, and it gives me one more reason to go shopping.

Picking a winter jacket can be tricky, that’s why you have to look for:

  • quality
  • hood
  • pockets

Some times this means you have to sacrifice your taste for something warm that is going to keep you alive while you are waiting for the bus at -20ºC, but it also means you are allowed to buy yourself a nice and elegant coat for all those times when:

  • you will see yourself in the mirror and will refuse to leave home looking like a sausage or a huge pickle (never buy a pink or green  winter jacket)
  • you are going to look out the windows and decide to call a cab

Then there is the BASIC TOP FIVE MUST HAVE:

  • boots
  • gloves
  • hat
  • scarf
  • lip balm

The SURVIVAL KIT is my favourite:

Finally, there are the best winter reliefs:

They don’t make winter go away – I have learned nothing does -  but they make you feel better!

It doesn’t matter if every time I get outside the wind in my face feels like that day, when the airport door opened and the Canadian winter punched me right in the face for the very first time.
I know I will survive again.

P.S. If you see a snowman, please make sure it’s not me!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “Italian lady in Canadian winter”

  1. nrhatch says :

    Winter . . . bah! humbug!

    Keep warm.

  2. Circe says :

    Ice skating is a good way to make winter pass by faster, but you do need a good coat, with good gloves to make it tolerable.

  3. Fragolina says :

    I can’t even imagine how cold winter could be in Canada. You can get busy with baking, and hot beverages.

  4. Paola says :

    Ciao Elena,
    I’m having a similar experience…grew up in Norther California (very mild winters) and am spending the year in Milano, where it’s been consistently below zero. In fact it’s been snowing the last two days. I know it’s not as cold as Canada, but it’s much colder than what I’m used to. I have learned quite a bit in the last month about layering layering layering. And I’ve also gotten to the point where I don’t care what I look like anymore, as long as I’m warm!
    Hang in there!
    Paola

    • ElenaSC says :

      Yeah, you are not very lucky: this year in Italy is much colder than usual!
      But come on, you are in Italy! You can always count on a good hot chocolate! Did you read my recipe, that will help you a lot!

      • Paola says :

        I did! I haven’t tried to make one at home yet, but I’ve had several at the local bars. They certainly do help!

  5. Antonella says :

    Tuesday afternoon I came back from Martinica!
    Wednesday morning, between Genoa and Milan, … -12°C!!!
    This morning -11°C …
    Take a long, sweet, hot bath … it would have been perfect!

    … but hot chocolate wasn’t enough! :-)))

    Ciao!

  6. eloradaphne says :

    Haaahhhaaaa Loved the comment about the pickle/sausage. Where in Canada are you Elena? Here in Genoa it actually snowed today..well first it was ice rain but then real flakes came down – if I’m lucky the students will all call the school in a panic and we’ll close for a snow day :)

  7. honeybeeluvsjackfruit says :

    You are so cute Elena. The sausage/pickle comment made me laugh! I wish I was half as fashionable as you seem to be (your wedding dress is gorgeous, btw).

    I really hate the cold as well, and can’t wait for winter to be over. And I live in southeastern US, so its warm compared to there!

Leave a Reply

