My natural 2011 resolution

The year 2010 taught me a lot, now it’s time to put everything to practice.


Deciding to have a new year resolution is a commitment for me, and finding out how this tradition was born gave me just that little push I needed.

Now I’m committed.

Everything built slowly during the whole of 2010: for work reasons I had the chance to meet  great people (like David Suzuki and His Holiness the Dalai Lama) living experience that really changed me. Coming back home I promised myself to treasure those life lessons and do my best in my everyday life.

The environment is of course the main priority as I learned it’s connected to the world’s main problems.

It’s not a coincidence if I decided to write about water footprint of fashion industry for Blog Day 2010,experience that again taught me a lot.

I have always paid attention to small things like turning the light off, saving water, and recycling. I also have a pretty good diet, rich of fruits and veggies, organic products and not too much meat, and I switched to green products like laundry soap, dishes soap and other cleaning products.
Now I’m ready to take the next step.

Knowing that I am not ready to become vegetarian (and honestly I don’t know if I’d ever be one), I set up a realistic goal for 2011: to use ONLY natural body care products.
When I say natural I mean:

  • soap
  • shampoo
  • conditioner
  • body soap
  • body lotion
  • face moisturizer
  • hands lotion
  • sunscreen
  • deodorant
  • toothpaste
  • mouthwash
  • make up: foundation, mascara, lipstick, blusher, lip liner, eye pencil,
  • make up remover
  • nail polish
  • nail polish remover
  • hair removal
  • lip balm

The reason that drove me to commit myself to this 2011 resolution is simple:

U.S. researchers identified 10,500 industrial chemicals used as cosmetic ingredients, including carcinogens, pesticides, reproductive toxics, endocrine disruptors, plasticizers, degreasers and surfactants (From David Suzuki Foundation web site. Read more)

Nearly 90 percent of the 10,500 ingredients FDA has determined are used in personal care products have not been evaluated for safety by the CIR, the FDA, or any other publicly accountable institution (From cosmeticsdatabase.com)

In fact, when we think about pollution, what do we think about? Probably not body care products, but some of the chemicals found in these products are not pretty at all. (Download here the David Suzuki Foundation report)

I also do not feel ok knowing I am using products that are tested on animals, and we are not talking only about mouse but cats and dogs (Read more here and here)

I spent the last four months trying to get rid of all the products I have at home – even if I know it wouldn’t be a big lost, I just didn’t feel to trash everything – and I did not purchase from companies that test on animals or products that contain chemicals, or animals ingredients.

Now that 2011 is at the door, and I will use only natural body care products. Whole Food and other small organic stores will become my sanctuary (even more if possible) and I won’t pay attention to sparkling commercial. I will still be beautiful, even more, without makeup tested on animals.

I will be also sharing with you some great natural recipes to make you own body care products that I found in the last few month, getting ready for this new year resolution, and I will be making them with you (some of them are really great and I know you do not want to miss them! You should subscribe to my blog just for them!)

I’m committed. Who is in?

Enhanced by Zemanta
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20 responses to “My natural 2011 resolution”

  1. bagnidilucca says :

    Good luck with your commitment. Happy New Year.

  2. The Gates of Lodore says :

    Good choice. I can’t say I strive for only natural ingredients, but I do strive to not buy things that have extra ingredients that do nothing to add to the functionality of the product. For instance, dyes or perfumes in detergents. I also try and avoid things that have unnecessary packaging. Oh, and if you want to cut down on water pollution, never, ever, ever get your clothes dry cleaned. The groundwater beneath my house is contaminated with chemicals from 3 different dry cleaner businesses.

  3. Caroline says :

    Good Luck and here’s to a wonderful 2011

  4. Aidyl says :

    Awesome. It’ll be hard to find those cosmetics, but it’ll be worth it! I am also with you on this!
    ~A ‘green girl’(even though my blog is ‘bluegirl’

  5. mejustarticulating says :

    Good luck with your resolution, it’s a great cause to strive for and I imagine you’ll have some great fun making your own products this year. Also, thank you for your comment on my first ever blog post!

  6. SherryGreens says :

    What a great resolution! I am really interested in this too, but am waiting for a lot of my existing products to run out. I would love to learn how to make some homemade cosmetics and creams with ingredients I can understand!

  7. Olivia says :

    Very well thought of indeed Elena Dear.. :)

    I wish you all the very best in this New Year.. xox

  8. David Wright says :

    Great idea! When my son was born, we moved towards a more chemical-free (or at least safer chemicals) living, though it’s harder to find stuff, and it usually is more expensive. Most of the stuff my son uses is of the chem-free variety, though I’ve not made the same changes for everything I use.

  9. Greyt Vegan Life says :

    I will be following you on this – it’s a great resolution (any time of year)! Have you read “Not Just A Pretty Face: The Ugly Side Of The Beauty Industry”? It’s a real eye-opener.

    • ElenaSC says :

      I didn’t, but now I have to! I just Googled it and when I’m off from work I’m going to buy it! It sounds very interesting, just what I need.
      Thank you so much!

  10. Modern American Man says :

    Best wishes on your New Years Resolutions Elena!

  11. gianni Lovato says :

    I am a little conflicted by the specifics of your new 2011 resolutions. Not that I have any objections to them, mind you; indeed they seem quite commendable.
    But I often question the value and usefulness of so many of the cosmetics and body products being used by women (and now even men) in general.
    Despite my advanced age, I am still an avid admirer of the gentle sex’s beauty, yet I am aware more than ever that women physical beauty is but a minor component of the fascination they are capable of exercising on members of the opposite sex (or their own if that is their preference).
    All in all, however, I can only cheer your effort, hoping that, if nothing else, they might put a dent in the amoral profits of the cosmetics industry in the last 50-plus years.

  12. honeybeeluvsjackfruit says :

    Bravo and good luck in your natural pursuits. I have been trying to be more natural for a while, though not perfect. Did you know coconut oil can be a great moisturizer?

Leave a Reply

