My running playlist – What’s yours?

I feel good. I have lots of reason to be proud of myself, but I forget it all the time, while I am always ready to be harder with myself.

One of the reasons why I should be proud it’s my running. After writing my first post about it, sharing with you my 2011 goal, I really got lots of energy from all your comments.

I am being consistent with my training, not excusing myself for lack of time or bad mood. Sometimes my very very (very) short experience takes me  in the wrong direction, but I’m working on it.

In two and a half months of training I have already learned a lot, not only about running, but about my body and even more important, my mind.

The fact that I used to see as the most negative (me running on the treadmill) it’s actually becoming my strength. In fact I read somewhere that running in the treadmill allows you to do something you cannot do running outside: training your mind.

I soon realized that my lack of confidence wasn’t only caused by the fact that I have never run before, but most of it was coming simply from my head. Training your mind and show it that you can actually do it it’s becoming my most important drive. Almost as important as my playlist.

I can not run without my music. Of course I have my “running “ playlist, and there are few songs that physically help me to run better, especially when my mind and body start to discuss whether or not they should stop.

Here my top ten playlist:

  1. Waka Waka (Time for Africa) – Shakira
  2. Release me – Agnes Carisson
  3. PYT (Pretty Young Thing) – Michael Jackson
  4. When love takes over – David Guetta feat. Kelly Rowland
  5. Get low – Flo Rida feat. T-Pain
  6. Like a G6 – Far East Movement
  7. One day in your life – Anastacia
  8. L’aiuola – Gianluca Grignani
  9. Raise your glass – Pink
  10. È più forte di me – Ligabue

What’s yours?

Read more posts about running.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “My running playlist – What’s yours?”

  1. bagnidilucca says :

    I like to walk in the hills around Bagni di Lucca in silence. I think listening to music would spoil the experience.

  2. becelisa says :

    i can’t run without music either. unless i’m with my group or running partner and chit chat the whole way. but funny thing is when i do use music, i don’t actually hear the songs. it’s like i need it there in the background but i don’t consciously register that i’m listening. unless i hit a rough patch in a run and then the right song can always pull me through!

  3. Greyt Vegan Life says :

    I agree with bagnidilucca. When running outdoors, I want to enjoy the experience: hear the birds, the water, the wind in the trees . . . whatever lies before me and around me. (Sidenote: women running or walking outdoors alone should always be aware of of their surroundings and leave the Ipod at home, or at least leave one earbud out of the ear). But, in my garage on my treadmill (I hate the treadmill!) while the weather is nasty outside, I have resorted to the playlist to get me through. The number one motivator for me (hanging my head in shame): Bon Jovi “Living On A Prayer”. It’s the only time that I listen to that genre!

    • ElenaSC says :

      I understand your point. I still have problem focusing while running so I am not able to run without music.
      Hopefully I will get better and I will be able to enjoy more what’s around me…. when the Canadian winter is done… -27C today!

  4. Circe says :

    that’s great that you’re still running. I think one of the reasons I don’t do well in the gym is that I have trouble focusing on my workout, I prefer exercise classes where they set the music for me, and all I have to do is make it to the end of the hour.

    • ElenaSC says :

      That’s funny, my next “running” post will be about focus, because believe me, it’s a big problem for me as well.
      I’ll tell you how I’m trying to work it out!

  5. A. says :

    Ti immagino correndo mentre ascolti: “Ti raserò l’aiuola! Quando ritorni da scuola!”
    Ahahah troppo divertente!!!!

  6. andrearodgers says :

    Great Job keeping up with your resolution!

    btw…Pretty Young Thing is one of my Top Ten too:)

  7. Anywhere Home says :

    Hey Elana,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I think this is a great post and I will tell you that I am a newbie to running as well! I started in about July or August because I was living in Paraguay and the gyms were sub-par so I figured the only way to get any exercise was just running on the (very broken down) streets. I was terrified to begin – mostly because I had never run before, not since high school field hockey practice, and was afraid that I wouldn’t be able to. But after just 2 months of running 3-4 times a week, I started to notice changes in my body and felt really great and proud of myself. I usually do between 3-5 miles at a time (taking a break when I need to,) but starting to run has been a really great experience of learning what I’m capable of!

    Also, a side note, I think it’s great that you can run on a treadmill! I tried a few times and always ran a little slower than usual and would get bored so much quicker! By the time it’s warm enough for you to run outside you’ll be golden!!

    Good luck!!
    Amanda

    anywherehome.wordpress.com

  8. Owen says :

    Absolutely no music here I find it very distracting, and dangerous if your street running and can’t hear.

  9. Julie says :

    I like Raise Your Glass.

    At the moment I love Rage Against the Machine for running – Killing in the Name, No Shelter, Renegades of Funk and Bulls on Parade.

    Otherwise I enjoy Lady Gaga, Katy Perry.

    One of my all time favourite running songs is Come with Me by Puff Daddy, this is the song I ran my first 10km to in 2006. I also like Black Eyed Peas for running.

    My favourite running songs are songs I don’t normally like, it’s odd.

Leave a Reply

