Run baby, run! (take 2) – Back from injury!

I’m back, or at least I hope so!

February wasn’t my lucky month. After I finally started to enjoy running and saw the first results of my 10k race training, I got shin splints followed by a bad cold.
Basically I didn’t run for almost a month, and since I started running in November, I lost about 25% of my total training.

I was ready to come back for a while, craving to run and getting upset for the time I was wasting, in top of everything, because of the cold.

I bought new shoes specifically for my feet, like most of you suggested me (btw running shoes should be more fashionable! Yes, I know. Sorry) and I stepped back on the treadmill.

If I have to be honest it feels I have lost even more than 25%. My cardio is totally off. I was approaching the 50 minutes run, and now it’s hard to finish 20 minutes!
Yes, I know, it was only the first day… it takes time…. whatever.

Anyway, I’m not writing to complain about the time I waisted in the last month, or the energy and effort I lost for no being consistent with the training. I’m writing because I’m back.

I want to run this race, and I will. I’m strong, I know I am, so I can do it.
It will take more work and time that it was supposed to, but that day, when I will pass the finish line, it will be all so worthy.

Now, that said, let’s be serious!

……..PEOPLE…… PLEASE HELP ME!!!!! My cardio is totally OFF!!!!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20 responses to “Run baby, run! (take 2) – Back from injury!”

  1. becelisa says :

    your cardio will come back quicker than you think. just keep running! be sure to ease back into the mileage though as your body gets used to not just running again but the new shoes. glad to hear you’re back!

  2. luau says :

    Persistence and patience. becelisa is right – the cardio will come back more quickly than you think, but you’re gonna have to balance the persistence with patience. If you can only go 20 minutes today, be okay with that – that’s 20 more minutes than you did yesterday. Listen to your legs and lungs…they will tell you what you can and can’t do.

  3. Dave says :

    Hello Elena! Thanks for the visit. Your other commenters are saying the right thing: Patience. I too got shin splints after beginning to run. I got them because I put on too many miles, during too many days, without enough rest days. I also had to stop for a while and I lost some fitness while recuperating. But, it does come back.

    The important thing is to not re-injure yourself by trying so hard to get back to your former level. I actually had to start over with run/walking for a while. Don’t forget to build in rest days and cross-training days (cycling, spinning, swimming, etc.) with your running days.

    Be patient, remember to have fun, and don’t sweat the small stuff. BTW, it’s all small stuff.

    Bigmanrunning

  4. Brian says :

    I third everything said here. I never started out to train to run a marathon. I started out because I needed the exercise and discovered I really enjoyed it and found it fulfilling. Then I realized I sort of had to run and from there I wanted to challenge myself with a half-marathon.

    The best thing about endurance running, I think, is persistence, discipline, and dedication to setting personal goals and forming a reasonable plan to achieve them (understanding of course that there will be set backs along the way).

    Keep it up. You’re already on the right path to getting to that next 10K or whatever goal you set for yourself.

  5. SeeJamieRun says :

    Everyone else has been right–you will get back to where you were, it just takes persistence and patience. Don’t get frustrated and do too much too fast, you might end up re-injuring yourself. Just do what you can–20 minutes is 20 minutes more than you could do before you ever started training. :)

  6. Aidyl says :

    As everyone said, start slow. I learned in yoga that sometimes, your body can’t do what it did yesterday.

  7. An Unherded Turtle says :

    Welcome back!
    I think everyone else has the great advice covered. You’ll get there maybe not how you had originally planned but you’ll get there. : )

  8. amandajeannesnow says :

    Good luck getting back into the groove! You will come fully back in no time. Being injured or sick totally sets you back on fitness goals but you were smart for taking time off so you come back 100%. Plus, who wants to work out when they feel like crap?

  9. haley says :

    ugh shin splints are the worst- I tried to run through them and got stress fractures- be careful and listen to your body!

  10. tapiotro3033 says :

    Good luck with everything. I third or fourth, or whatever we’re at now, everyone else’s comments. Listen to your body, don’t push yourself too hard too fast, and have patience. If you read through my blog you’ll find that I suffered with the same patience problem at first too. :) It’ll come!

    http://sprinklesontop.wordpress.com/

  11. Claire says :

    Hi Elena! Bringing up the rear, but yes I agree with everyone else as well. I’ve been injured several times and it’s SO incredibly frustrating, but you’ll only make things worse if you don’t listen to your body and ease back into things. Slowly build up your time, and as you do that, try lower impact exercises like swimming, cycling, yoga etc. I know it’s not the same as running – but that, combined with some strength training, will help you make a strong comeback.

    Also, have you considered sports massage? I had terrible shin splints when marathon training last year, and I saw a wonderful sports therapist who really helped me. Lastly, I tend to have more problems with shin splints when I use the treadmill versus outdoors, so maybe consider trying to run on trails or any other softer surfaces if possible.

    Good luck and thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Claire

  12. sisil says :

    I totally understand how you feel, I stopped exercising for 2.5 months due to injury – I broke the 5th metatarsal bone of my left foot, not from running but from tripping down of my home stairs.

    My biggest worry was that I couldn’t run anymore! The bone doctor assured me that it’s OK and I can start running again slowly, but don’t push it too hard and stop when I notice any discomfort or pain.

    I am now easing back to running, slowly building up speed & distance again. I’m only doing half what I used to do in a session… usually I run 5K for one session and now only about 3K and mixing brisk walking & relaxed jog.

    Take it slowly & pay attention to your body :) We can do it!

  13. Patrice says :

    Elena,
    I, too, am a runner who has suffered a pretty serious injury (torn plantar fascia) and have been told I won’t be able to run until next year! I am in denial about this, of course–surely I’ll be a quick healer ;-) But more to the point: I’ve been in a walking cast for 14 weeks already and have decided that my body is sending pain signals for an injury that should be healing. I’m guessing that while patience is a virtue and we do have to listen to our bodies, they can get de-conditioned pretty quickly. So while I was in training for a 10-miler, I know I’ll be busted back to 30 second run/walk intervals for a little while. Coraggio e pazienza!

Leave a Reply

