Running: when not to listen to your body

After blogging about my hard moment coming back to my 10k training after an injury, lots of you – my lovely readers – left me nice and kind tips.

I was expressing my disappointment for missing a month of training and basically my hard work to build my cardio.

What I learned from your comments, and I do trust my readers – many of them have also lots of experience in running, which I don’t – it’s that I have to be patient, consistent, and

I HAVE TO LISTEN TO MY BODY.

Ok, all good, but what when your body is telling you something wrong?

The last few weeks, looking for support and a way to get back my cardio, I have been reading lots of article about running, mainly on internet: running website/forum and blogs.

The other day I ran into an article (I wish I could remember where) that was talking about the wrong signs your body can give you, and how you can beat it.

Think about the famous “wall”: is it really a mental thing? How many times you feel your legs heavy and breathing become so hard after only 20 minutes?

So you start thinking it’s not a good day, maybe you didn’t drink enough water during the day, or you didn’t eat properly. You decide to listen to your body and not to push, perhaps running only 75% of what you should.

The reality is you are able to run more and better, and even if bad days do exist, sometimes you body can just ask you to stop and you have to keep going. Use you mind to beat that feeling, tell yourself you are not tired, breath deep and slow.

So now I’m confuse.

In part I agree with what the article: if I would stop every time I feel my body it’s asking me that…. Yeah, I probably would train. There are days where I feel good, but a good 60% I have to admit that I have to push, and I get tired too early.

Especially now that I coming back from an injury, and I am very body-conscious, I understand I have to learn when listen to my body and when not.

What do you thing about it?

For now, I have a long way to go.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

